Whalers Take a 3-0 Championship Series Lead with Win Over Islanders

After a 5 – 0 shutout win in Port Colborne, Ontario on March 24th at the Vale Centre and the Niagara Whalers leading the 2017 Greater Metro Hockey League Russell Cup Championship series 2 – 0, the 2016 – 2017 GMHL regular season champions headed to Parry Sound 24 hours later to face the Parry Sound islanders at the Bobby Orr Community Centre.

Manny Manns sank the opening goal of the game at 4:06 of the first with a pass from Whaler Blake Luscombe to give Niagara a 1 – 0 lead. At 5:50 of the period, Broderick Kelly and David Christopher set up Whaler Zack Lansfield at 5:50 to give Niagara a 2 – 0 lead. 56 seconds before the halfway mark of the first, Jan Vyoral sunk the lone goal for the Islanders with Ervin Halasz and Milan Prusek addng the assists. Manns fires his second of the contest at 15:43 of the period to send the visitors into the first intermission up 3 – 1. Matt Hore and Paolo Sivilotti had the helpers on Manns’ goal.

Manns registers a hat trick and brings Niagara’s lead to 4 – 1 at 4:30 of the second on a Whaler power play with Brandon Cercone and Matt Hore adding the assists. Scoring the Whalers fifth of the game on a power play was Niagara’s Kellan Rosenbaum at 6:36 of the period. Lansfield and Cercone notched the helpers on Rosenbaum’s goal. At 16:17 of the second was Ralfs Circenis of the Whalers to increase the lead to 6 – 1. Kelly and Niagara netminder Joel Horodziejczyk had the assists. With three minutes left in game three, Circenis netted his second of the period for Niagara. Travis Valvo and Izaak Del Mastro set up the Whalers seventh of the game. Matt Hore sends the Whalers into the second intermission up 8 – 1 with Luscombe and Tyler Hore adding the contributors on Hore’s power play goal.

David Christopher rilfed Niagara’s ninth of game three at 2:52 of the third with Lansfield and Tyler Jackson drawing the helpers. 42 seconds later, Del Mastro gives Niagara a 10 – 1 win with Circenis and Valvo registering the assists. Netminder Horodziejczyk 21 saves in the Whalers game three win.

Niagara can capture the 2017 Russell Cup Championship with a game four win on Sunday March 26th in Port Colborne in a 7:00 p.m puck drop.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *