SJHL Hawk Stead Named 2017 CJHL Top Goaltender

The Canadian Junior Hockey League announced Wednesday May 17th that Kristian Stead of the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League’s Nipawin Hawks has been named its Top Goaltender Award recipient for the 2016-17 campaign.

The 20-year-old Merritt, British Columbia product was earlier tabbed a double award honouree for his efforts in the SJHL in 2016-17.

Not only was he named his league’s top goaltender for his contributions between the pipes, but Stead was also chosen as the SJHL’s Most Valuable Player.

The Nipawin netminder led all SJHL goalkeepers in wins with 29.

Stead also shared top spot in league save percentage at .936 and led the way in the 12-team SJHL in shutouts with seven while his 1.97 goals-against average ranked him third overall.

His win, average and save mark totals all represented personal career single season highs.

Stead has committed to attend the University of Alaska-Anchorage on NCAA Division I Scholarship where he will play for the Seawolves hockey program.

The CJHL would also like to recognize the five other finalists for its Top Goaltender Award in 2016-17.

AJHL: Logan Drackett – Calgary Canucks
CCHL: Henry Johnson – Brockville Braves
MJHL: Roman Bengert – Steinbach Pistons
NOJHL: Nate McDonald – Poswassan Voodoos
OJHL: Josh Astorino – Georgetown Raiders

CJHL Top Goaltender Award Recipients
2016-17: Kristian Stead, Nipawin Hawks (SJHL)
2015-16: Matthew Murray, Spruce Grove Saints (AJHL)
2014-15: Nic Renyard, Okotoks Oilers (AJHL)
2013-14: Tanner Jaillet, Fort McMurray Oil Barons (AJHL)
2012-13: Matt Hrynkiw, Humboldt Broncos (SJHL)

With files from Mike Stackhouse, Communications (AJHL)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *