NOJHL Birds Finish Their Run at the 2015 RBC Cup in Loss to the BCHL Vees

RBC CupAnthony Miller, Nick Tassone, Dave Radke, Connor Dea and Eric Hillock pulled on a Soo Thunderbird jersey for their last game of their junior ‘A’ hockey careers when they hit the ice for the final time when meet the British Columbia Hockey League’s Penticton Vees along the rest of the Thunderbirds on May 14th in a 3:00 p.m afternoon matinee at the 2015 RBC Cup in Portage la Prairie, Manitoba.

7:28 into the first, Penticton’s Steen Cooper found the back of rookie Thunderbird goaltender Mario Culina net to give the Vees a 1 – 0 lead on an unassisted goal. Penticton’s Patrick Newell gave the Vees a 2 – 0 lead 1:29 into the second period with helpers from Demico Hannoun and Gabe Bast. On a Penticton power play Patrick Newell of the Vees sank his second of the game at 6:23 of the period with contributors from Connor Chartier and Cooper to bring the lead to 3 – 0.

Thunderbird Brett Jeffries brings the game within two with the Soo’s first goal of the game behind Penticton’s netminder Hunter Muska at 13:02 of the second on an unassisted goal. Scoring his second at the 2015 RBC Cup, Jeffries closes the gap to one with a Thunderbird goal with defenseman Caleb Boman and Boris Katchouk adding the assists 1:28 into the third. Tyson Jost scored the Vees second power play goal of the game when the Penticton forward found the back of Thunderbird goaltender Brian Kment at 3:55 of the period with Newell and Hannoun registering the helpers. With 3:15 left in the game, Dakota Conroy sunk the final goal of the game to hand the Thunderbirds a 5 – 3 loss with Hannoun and Newell adding the assists on a Vees power play.

Penticton will wait the outcome of the MJHL Portage Terriers versus the Melfort Mustangs final game of round robin to determine Vees opponent in one of two 2015 RBC Cup semi – final on Saturday May 16th.  The Thunderbirds were eliminated from the 2015 RBC Cup with a 0 – 3 record in Portage la Prairie.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *