Game Day Preview: CCHL Championship, Canadians vs Senators

The 2017 Bogart Cup will have the Carleton Place Canadians taking on the Ottawa Jr Senators to open the series on April 15th in Carleton Place, Ontario in a 7:30 p.m puck drop.  This will be the second straight post – season that Carleton Place and Ottawa will compete for the Bogart Cup championship.

How They Got Here: In the CCHL quarter – final, the first place Carleton Place Canadians faced the eighth place Nepean Raiders with the Canadians eliminating the Raiders in game five with taking the series 4 – 1 while the third place Ottawa Jr Senators needed to go to five games to win the quart – finals over the sixth place Brockville Braves.
In the semi – finals, Carleton Place would meet the fifth place Kemptville 73’s in the best of seven with Carleton Place winning the series in six games over the 73’s. In the other CCHL semi – final, it was a battle of the second and third place junior ‘A’ franchises when Ottawa met the Cornwall Colts. The Canadians needed two of the wins that went to overtime to capture the semi – final series.

Head to Head: In the five previous meetings throughout the 2016 – 2017 season, the Canadians outscored the Senators 15 – 12 during the season with their November 4th match – up needing a shutout to win 4 – 3 over Ottawa.
Second Season: In the 2017 post – season is the second straight season with the Canadians facing the Senators in the CCHL Bogart Cup finals with the Canadians winning the CCHL title in seven games over Ottawa in 2016.

About the Cup: The Bogart Cup is the symbol of Central Canada Hockey League (CCHL) supremacy and is awarded to the league’s playoff champions. It was donated by Art Bogart of Pembroke in 1961. Mr Bogart was the owner of the Pembroke Lumber Kings.

Bogart Cup Appearances: Carleton Place is making their fourth straight appearance in the Bogart Cup finals with winning the Bogart Cup in 2014, 2015 and 2016 while Ottawa won the CCHL championships 1983, 1993, 2002 along with facing the Canadians in the 2016 Bogart Cup final.

The following are the all-time CCHL Bogart Cup playoff champions:
1962 Ottawa Montagnards
1963 Ottawa Montagnards
1964 Ottawa Primrose
1965 Smiths Falls Bears
1966 Cornwall Royals
1967 Cornwall Royals
1968 Cornwall Royals
1969 Hull Castors
1970 Ottawa M&W Rangers
1971 Ottawa M&W Rangers
1972 Smiths Falls Bears
1973 Pembroke Lumber Kings
1974 Smiths Falls Bears
1975 Smiths Falls Bears
1976 Rockland Nationals
1977 Pembroke Lumber Kings
1978 Pembroke Lumber Kings
1979 Hawkesbury Hawks
1980 Hawkesbury Hawks
1981 Gloucester Rangers
1982 Pembroke Lumber Kings
1983 Ottawa Senators
1984 Pembroke Lumber Kings
1985 Pembroke Lumber Kings
1986 Brockville Braves
1987 Pembroke Lumber Kings
1988 Pembroke Lumber Kings
1989 Pembroke Lumber Kings
1990 Hawkesbury Hawks
1991 Hawkesbury Hawks
1992 Kanata Valley Lasers
1993 Ottawa Senators
1994 Gloucester Rangers
1995 Cornwall Colts
1996 Cornwall Colts
1997 Kanata Valley Lasers
1998 Brockville Braves
1999 Hawkesbury Hawks
2000 Cornwall Colts
2001 Cornwall Colts
2002 Ottawa Jr. Senators
2003 Nepean Raiders
2004 Nepean Raiders
2005 Hawkesbury Hawks
2006 Hawkesbury Hawks
2007 Pembroke Lumber Kings
2008 Pembroke Lumber Kings
2009 Pembroke Lumber Kings
2010 Pembroke Lumber Kings
2011 Pembroke Lumber Kings
2012 Nepean Raiders
2013 Cornwall Colts
2014 Carleton Place Canadians
2015 Carleton Place Canadians
2016 Carleton Place Canadians

What’s Next: The 2017 Fred Page Cup will be hosted by the Quebec Junior Hockey League Cobras de Terrebonne from May 3rd – May 7th. The Fred Page Cup consists of the champions from the Central Canada Hockey League, Quebec Junior Hockey League and the Maritime Hockey League and the host city who ate the Cobras in 2017.

Since 1995, this tournament has pitted the champions of the Bogart Cup of the Central Junior Hockey League A, the Kent Cup of the Maritime Junior Hockey League A, and the NAPA Cup of the Junior Hockey League of Quebec and the City’s host team in this case, the Cobras de Terrebonne, against each other.

In the MHL finals, first place Miramichi Timberwolves while open the championship series on April 15th against the second place Truro Bearcats. The hosts, the Cobras de Terrebonne will take on the French College of Longueuil in game on April 15th for the QJHL final. The Senators and Canadians meet in Carleton Place on the 15th to start the CCHL Bogart Championship.

Carleton Place Canadians
Top Producers: The top three producers for the Canadians heading this year finals were Connor Merkley (11gp, 5g, 7a, 3 PPA), Andrew Dobson (9gp, 3g, 9a, 1 SHG) and Alex Friesen (11gp, 7g, 3a, 3 PPG) along with goaltender Connor Hughes (11gp, 2.11 GAA, 0.924 SV%, 1 SO, 653 MINS).

Special Teams: The Canadians sit in second place in the post – season with 11 games under their belts with Carleton Place’s power play percentage at 18.18 while their penalty killing is at 86%. The Canadians have ten goals on the power play along with allowing seven against.

Awards: Defenseman Owen Grant took home to top defenseman award in the 2016 – 2017. In 11 games in the 2017 post – season, the 6’0” and 185 lbs blueliner had one assist and tallied four minutes in penalties. The 19 year old Stittsville, Ontario native had five goals and 19 assists in 56 regular season games in 2016 – 2017.

Behind the Bench: in the seven previous under the guidance of coach Jason Clarke, the Canadians have won three straight champions as well as winning the Fred Page Cup in 2014 and 2015 with advancing to the national championships in those two seasons. Clarke was also awarded the 2016 – 2017 General Manager award for the CCHL.

Ottawa Jr Senators
Top Producers: Jaren Burke (9gp, 8g, 4a, 5 PPG), Luke McCaw (9gp, 5g, 4a, 1 GWG), Merrick Rippon (9gp, 7a, 6 PPA) are leading the Senators entering into the Bogart Cup finals while netminder Ian Adriano (9gp, 1.36 GAA, 0.949 SV%, 574 MINS) has seen action in all of Ottawa’s post – season games.

Special Teams: The Senators are in seventh in the power play with a percentage of 26.32 entering into the league final while a penalty kill percentage at 90.70. In nine play – off match – ups, Ottawa has sunk ten power play goals and allowed only four.

Awards: 16 year old Merrick Rippon was awarded the 2016 – 2017 Rookie of the Year with the Senators. In 59 regular season games, Rippon scored eight goals and had contributed on 25 while adding seven assists in nine post – season games in 2017. In 59 CCHL games, the Ottawa, Ontario native had 64 minutes in penalties while tallying another in ten in the play – offs.

Behind the Bench: Ottawa coach Martin Dagenais is in his second season as the bench boss for the Senators with making his second straight Bogart Cup appearance starting on April 15th.

2017 CCHL Bogart Cup Championship Schedule
(1) Carleton Place Canadians vs (3) Ottawa Jr Senators
Game 1: April 15th Ottawa Jr Senators @ Carleton Place Canadians (7:00 p.m)
Game 2: April 16th Carleton Place Canadians @ Ottawa Jr Senators (7:30 p.m)
Game 3: April 19th Ottawa Jr Senators @ Carleton Place Canadians (7:30 p.m)
Game 4: April 21st Carleton Place Canadians @ Ottawa Jr Senators (7:30 p.m)
Game 5: April 23rd Ottawa Jr Senators @ Carleton Place Canadians (3:30 p.m)**
Game 6: April 25th Carleton Place Canadians @ Ottawa Jr Senators (7:30 p.m)**
Game 7: April 26th Ottawa Jr Senators @ Carleton Place Canadians (7:30 p.m)**

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *